About Trinity Trail Preservation Association (TTPA)

The Trinity Trail Preservation Association is an all-volunteer non-profit equestrian organization whose main purpose is to maintain the 25.5 mile long trail on the Corps of Engineers land along Lake Lavon and to network with other trail riders. You can see our three trail head locations on this Google Map.

Besides maintaining the trail, the group sponsors trail rides and cookouts and has quarterly meetings with speakers on horse-related issues. The group is truly regional and has over 130 member families from Addison, Allen, Aubrey, Blue Ridge, Celeste, Celina, Dallas, Fairview, Farmersville, Forney, Garland, Josephine, Lavon, Lucas, McKinney, Melissa, Mesquite, Murphy, Nevada, Parker, Pilot Point, Plano, Pottsboro, Princeton, Quitman, Richardson, Rockwall, Rowlett, Royce City, Sachse, Sanger, St. Paul, Van Alstyne, and Wylie. In addition, riders and hikers from all over the Metroplex come to enjoy the beauty and peacefulness of the trail. The 25 mile trail runs from East Fork Park in Wylie through Collin Park in St. Paul to Brockdale Park in Lucas and continues north on to Highland Park.

TTPA encourages hikers, nature lovers, scouts, and horse owners in the area to enjoy the scenic trail and related activities on the trail.

How to Join TTPA

To join TTPA and get regular delivery of the monthly newsletter, send $35 to Trinity Trail Preservation Association, c/o Kris McFarland. The $35 for membership includes CareFlite insurance for your entire household. Mail your check and completed membership form to Kris McFarland, 1512 Evergreen Dr, Allen TX 75002. The membership form can be downloaded here.

For more information, see the Trinity Trail Preservation Association’s website at www.trinitytrailriders.org. TTPA also has an active Yahoo Group located at http://sports.groups.yahoo.com/group/Trinity_Trail/, a TTPA Facebook page and a TTPA Twitter profile.

The organization welcomes involvement. The organization exists thanks to the dedication and hard work of volunteers. Please consider getting involved with the organization. We welcome all who enjoy the trail both riders and non-riders.

2011 TTPA Organization


President Duke Monson 972-548-9903 (H) 214-422-2929 (C)
Vice-President Jack Gilstrap 214-348-0414
Secretary Kris McFarland 972-814-0290
Treasurer Kendra Lara 214-334-0498
Past President Tracy Matern 214-495-7493 (H) 214-392-2288 (C)
Public Relations Chris Churchill 972-429-1222 (H) 214-263-6904 (C)
Events Coordinator (open)
Trail Ride Chair Kathy Erickson 469-742-9618 (H) 214-385-5440 (C)
Chuckwagon Chair Lana Gilstrap 214-348-0414
Membership Chair Ruth Blom 214-418-4106
Trail Steward Charlie Gaines 972-442-6454 (H) 972-824-3369 (C)
Grants & Stewardship Carole Kowitt 972-396-8064 (H) 972-523-9136 (C)
Newsletter Editor & Email Pat Monson 972-548-9903 (H) 214-213-1940 (C)


Coggins Tracy Matern, Beth Mydill, Betty Hall, Kellie Smith, Brenda Rizos, Noel Freeman, Keeley Helton
Events Keeley Helton
Chuckwagon Christina Snow, Amin & Karen Bata, Steve & Debbie Bourgeois, June Boyd, Karen Newton, Lynda Parker, Royce Schafer, Kurt & Shelley Van Doren, Marty & Sharon Berryman, Debi Zinser, Jane Becker
Assistant Trail Stewards Jean Schooping – North of Highland
Carol Winston – Brockdale north to Highland
Trey & Terry Henry – East Fork to Brockdale
Highland Trailhead Tracy Matern (Captain), Tom & Pat Pollard, Brenda Rizos, Connie Cropp, Noel Freeman
Brockdale Trailhead Debbie Bourgeois (Captain), Lucy Estabrook, Charle Witted, Sally Ballis
East Fork Trailhead Jill Korbelic (Captain), Karen Locklear, Sharon Berryman, Cliff & Pat Martin
Insurance Specialist Lucy Estabrook